Alpine MRV-F545 not powering sub. What am I doing wrong?

General car audio discussion area.
User avatar
ryz0n
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 4:25 am

Alpine MRV-F545 not powering sub. What am I doing wrong?

Postby ryz0n » Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:13 pm

Well, I'm supposed to bridge channels 3 and 4 on this amp to run my subwoofer, but no matter what I've done, the sub has not been powered once. I'm thinking either i'm not connecting the RCA's correctly, or there's something wrong with the amp.

Amp is CH 3/4 Filter LP setting, x1, input channel 1+3, 2+4. I also tried on 3/4 too.
I have 4 RCA's on my head unit, F+R plugged into front, F+R plugged into SW(subwoofer), nothing plugged into R(rear). Where should the RCA's be plugged into the amp, and do I have to switch any of the plugs in the HU?
Image
User avatar
KU40
Posts: 6461
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 12:02 pm
Location: Lawrence, KS
Contact:

Postby KU40 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 5:25 pm

what is F+R RCAs plugged into front, F+R plugged into SW? Do you mean Left and Right? The RCAs for the sub should be plugged into the subwoofer output.

Does the amp turn on?

Is there a setting on the head unit to turn on the subwoofer output?

The RCAs on the amp should be plugged into the two channels you are bridging for the sub. Since you are doing channels 3 and 4, you should be plugging them into the middle two RCA jacks on the amp there.
-Nick aka NS1 aka mopey aka speedbump
Alpine CDA-9827
Crossfire CFQ5.2
JL Audio XR 650csi components, Planet Audio TT2300
Crossfire VR404 on factory rear 6x8's until I get them upgraded
SI 15D2 + 3.8 @ 30 hz + Crossfire BMF 1000D = :)
User avatar
nismo
Posts: 6120
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: Greenwood, IN
Contact:

Postby nismo » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:47 pm

Your subwoofer output from your deck goes into channels 3 and 4. It is the center set of RCA's on your amps.

Eric

Return to “Car Audio”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest